Yusaku Maezawa, a Japanese billionaire and two crewmates land at International Space Station

Yusaku Maezawa, a Japanese billionaire and two crewmates land at International Space Station

Arriving of the Trio at ISS

Two space tourists are among the three persons who have recently arrived at the International Space Station.

Japanese businessman Yusaku Maezawa, video producer Yozo Hirano, and cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin were all aboard a Russian Soyuz spacecraft. They made contact with the orbiting lab at 8:40 a.m. EST on Wednesday (Dec. 8). (1340 GMT).

The trio departed the Earth just 6 hours prior. It was launched atop a Soyuz rocket from Baikonur Cosmodrome’s Kazakhstan at 2:38 a.m. EST on Wednesday (1738 GMT).

On Wednesday, at 10:35 a.m. EST (1535 GMT), the hatches between the International Space Station and the Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft will open. The trio can exit the Soyuz and join the rest of the crew atop the station after seeing the event. At 10:15 a.m. EST, coverage will begin (1515 GMT).

Tasks handled by the Trio

The Virginia business Space Adventures organized Maezawa, Hirano, and Misurkin’s voyages. They previously assisted in the transportation of seven paying customers to the International Space Station on eight occasions. One of the individuals flew twice. But it had been a long time; the most recent Space Adventures flight had taken place in 2009.

Maezawa, the founder of the online apparel shop ZOZO and the CEO of Start Today, purchased seats for himself and Hirano, who will chronicle the 12-day trip. In addition, he will take part in some health and performance studies. The mission commander, veteran cosmonaut Misurkin, will show the newcomers the ropes.

On Sunday, the trio is expected to return to Earth (Dec. 19). Maezawa will very likely begin planning his second spacecraft after landing, which will take him considerably further out. The billionaire has booked a journey around the moon on SpaceX’s massive Starship spacecraft, with a tentative launch date of 2023.

Recently, two more amateur spaceflyers stayed aboard the space station. In October, Russian film director Klim Shipenko and actress Yulia Peresild spent 12 days at the orbiting lab. They planned to film scenes for a film named “The Challenge.” Space Adventures did not plan their vacation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *